Students and Faculty Recognized at Honors Convocation

Students and Faculty Recognized at Honors Convocation

May 31, 2013

Students and Faculty Recognized at Honors Convocation

honors and awards recognition ceremony

Salem honored the achievement of students and faculty during the annual Honors Convocation ceremony in May. Visit our Awards and Honors page for a full list of award descriptions and criteria. 

This year’s award honorees were:

H. A. Pfohl Award (student):  Christina Johnson

H. A. Pfohl Award (faculty):  Dr. John Hutton

Salem Distinguished Professor:  Professor Barbara Lister-Sink

ODK Outstanding Teacher Award:  Dr. Jennifer Piscopo

Phi Alpha Theta Honor Society Inzer Byers History Award:  Jennifer Ashley Palmer

Penelope Niven Award for Creative Writing:  Amy Marie Cushman

Lucy Bramlette Patterson Award for Creative Writing:  Caroline Elizabeth Wall

Women in Science and Mathematics Program Prize:  Jessica Nicole Bullins

K. Boyd Remley Voice Award:  Jennie Louise Walker

Bright and Annie Lee Fitzgerald Sink Award for Excellence in Piano:  Jonathan Blake Borton

Katherine B. Rondthaler Award for Studio Art:  Alexandra Randall

Katherine B. Rondthaler Award for Poetry:  Jessica Paige Goodard

Katherine B. Rondthaler Award for Prose:  Chastin Le’nai Kornegay

Katherine B. Rondthaler Award for Music:  Sarah Singleton Wilson

Katherine B. Rondthaler Award for Choreography:  Janet Bronte Emery

Nancy B. Hayes Elementary Education Award:  Nicole Rebhan Howard

Marjorie Hedrick Bailey Scholarship:  Nataly Mojica

Harry and Hannah Smith Scholarship:  Chelsea Cotteau

Jess Byrd Merit Scholarship:  Kelsey Danielle Hurlbut

Lovin History Award:  Lauren Adele Rohrbach Poole

Minnie J. Smith Scholarship:  Devin Ariel DeCanio

Dorris Collie Hall Scholarship:  Joelisa Khun

Scholar Athlete of the Year:  Angela Elizabeth Reavis

President’s Prizes:

Monnie Louise Frank, Accounting

Ingrid Zulema Galindo, Art History

Taylor Dee-Anne Hayes, Arts Management

Susan Renee Ivey, Biology

Heather Elizabeth McCracken, Business Administration

Rachel Marie Mobley, Communication

LeeAnn Nichole Holmes, Creative Writing

Alicia Renee Hagin, Criminal Studies

Victoria Elizabeth Hall, Economics

Shelby LeAnn Wilson, English

Nina Renee Asbury, Exercise Science

Katherine Marie McMahon, History

Amanda Leigh Miller, Integrative Studies

Katherine Grey Elliott, Interior Design

Aurora Arselia Gallegos-Mata, International Business

Roodline Volcy, International Relations

Jessica Ann Vargas, Mathematics

Meredith Nicole Dowdy, Music

Sara Marie Dowdle, Not-for-Profit Management

Ariel Logan Rost, Psychology

Roodline Volcy, Race and Ethnicity Studies

Carrie Lee Pugh, Religion

Zoe Elizabeth Fawcett, Sociology

Aurora Arselia Gallagos-Mata, Spanish

Diana Isabel Vasquez, Studio Art

Pamela L. Hall, Teaching, Schools and Society

Carolyn Jane Cole, Women’s Studies