Committee appointed for Salem's presidential search

Committee appointed for Salem's presidential search

November 13, 2013

Charles A. Blixt, Chair of the Board of Trustees of Salem Academy and College has announced the membership of the Presidential Search Committee. The highly representative committee will conduct its search over the next six months in order to recommend to the full Board top candidates for the presidency of the 242-year-old institution.

In September, current president Susan E. Pauly announced that she would retire at the end of the academic year, June 30, 2014.

The representative presidential search committee is comprised of trustees, faculty, students, administration, staff and alumnae of both the Academy and College. Trustee Ms. M. Elizabeth Rader of Cincinnati, Ohio, will serve as chair of the 20-member committee that includes:

McDara P. Folan III, Winston-Salem, N.C.: Trustee; Vice Chair, Search Committee

Elizabeth Denton Baird C’83, Holly Springs, N.C.: Chair, Board of Visitors

Krispin Barr, Greensboro, N.C.: College Dean of Students

Jo Stephenson Brown C’83, Columbus, N.C.: Trustee; President, College Alumnae Association

D. Wayne Burkette, Pfafftown, N.C.: Trustee

B. J. Buckland C’90, Winston-Salem, N.C.: Alumna, Fleer Center for Adult Education

L. Duane Davis, Winston-Salem, N.C.: Trustee

Rebecca Dunn, Winston-Salem, N.C.: College Faculty

Amelia Garner A’14, Winston-Salem, N.C.: Academy Student; President, Honor Cabinet

Gary Ljungquist, Lewisville, N.C.: College Faculty

Jennifer Reinhardt Lynch A’77, High Point, N.C.: Academy Alumna; Trustee

Sara Otero C’14, Melbourne, Fla.: College Student; President, Student Government Association

Eve Rapp, Winston-Salem, N.C.: College Faculty

Rebecca Hewit Rauenhorst C’74, Tampa, Fla.: Trustee

Lauren Rogers, Winston-Salem, N.C.: Academy Faculty

Karl Sjolund, Winston-Salem, N.C.: Academy Head of School

Teresa Rust Smith, Winston-Salem, N.C.: College Faculty

Barbara Wolla, Winston-Salem, N.C.: Academy Faculty

Lynne Stewart C’97, Pfafftown, N.C.: Director of Board Relations; Executive Secretary to the Search Committee (nonvoting)

“On behalf of the Board, I extend my appreciation to the members of the Search Committee for accepting this demanding assignment. I am grateful for their commitment and dedication to fulfilling perhaps the most significant step to be taken in shaping the future of Salem Academy and College,” said Blixt.

The search committee will carry out a national search for candidates who meet the desired qualifications for leading Salem’s historic mission, accepting nominations and applications from a diverse group of well-qualified persons, including minorities.

To aid the Committee’s work, Kenneth D. Carrick Jr. and Janet R. DeLoache A’72 of the search firm Coleman Lew & Associates of Charlotte, N.C., have been engaged to help identify prospective candidates and provide assistance to the Committee.

The committee’s timetable aims to appoint the 20th president of Salem Academy and College by April 2014.