Faculty Named to New Administrative Roles

Faculty Named to New Administrative Roles

August 15, 2012

Salem College announces new appointments in its academic departments and academic enrichment programs as several professors add administrative responsibilities to their teaching positions.

“These new department and program heads bring valuable experience and dedication to their administrative roles,” says Dr. Susan Calovini, Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs and Dean of the College. “I am extremely grateful for their leadership in these important educational programs.”

Those in new leadership roles include:

-Professor Kim Varnadoe, chair of the Department of Art
-Professor Mary Ann Davis, interim director of the Department of Teacher Education
-Dr. Karen Hixson, coordinator of the Exercise Science Program
-Dr. Andrew Thomas, chair of the newly-named Department of History and Political Science (previously the Department of History and International Relations)
-Dr. Darlene Rodriguez, director of the Not-for-Profit Management and Arts Management Programs
-Dr. Mary Jacobsen, chair of the Department of Psychology
-Dr. Jo Dulan, coordinator of the Women’s Studies Program
-Professor Aimee Mepham, interim director of the Center for Women Writers
-Dr. Rebecca Dunn, director of the Women in Science and Mathematics Program