Students and Faculty Recognized at Honors Convocation

Students and Faculty Recognized at Honors Convocation

May 10, 2012

Student and faculty achievement was celebrated during the annual Honors Convocation in Hanes Auditorium on May 9. Here, a list of all the winners:

Music Awards

K. Boyd Remley Voice Award: Vera Rose Gies C'12

Bright and Annie Lee Fitzgerals Sink Award for Excellence in Piano and Organ: John Daniel Johnson C'12

Winnie Warlick Simpson Award: Brent Leon Neuenschwander C'12

Alumnae Awards

Katherine B. Rondthaler Awards   

Poetry (winner): LeeAnn Nichole Holmes C'13, "How to Love Again"

Prose (winner): Sarah Melissa Cox C'12, "How to Lose Your Recess"

Prose (honorable mention): Sara Lynn Maher C'12, Alexandria Elizabeth Carreiro C'12

Music:    Vera Rose Gies C'12

Studio Art (winner): Lauren Elizabeth Wilson C'12, Senior Thesis - "Things Fit Together"

Studio Art (honorable mention): Shannon Lynn Johnson C'12, Senior Thesis - "It Ain't Over"

Choreography:    Kayla Alexandra Hocker C'12

Nancy Hayes Elementary Education Award:    Judy Ann Dearborn C'12

Academic Awards

Harry and Hannah Smith Scholarship: Justyn Nicole Kissam C'14

Jess Byrd Merit Scholarship: Jessica Paige Goodard C'14

Marjorie Hedrick Bailey Scholarship: Angelica Maria Regalado C'13

Minnie J. Smith Scholarship: Sierra Brooke Presnell C'14

Dorris Collie Hall Scholarship: Nataly Mojica C'15

Scholar Athlete of the Year: Angela Elizabeth Reavis C'14

President's Prizes  

Accounting: Yuliya Garcia C'12

Art History: Kristiana Marie West C'12

Arts Management: Taylor Dee-Ann Hayes C'13

Biology: Angela Grace Wilson C'12

Business Administration: Justin Bryant Henderson C'12

Chemistry: Katherine Virginia Ambrose C'12

Communication: Jacqueline Ann Causey C'12

Creative Writing: Alexandria Marie Bennett C'12

Criminal Studies: Hannah Caitlin Greenwald C'14

Economics: Stephanie Desiree Knight C'12

English: Alexandria Elizabeth Carreiro C'12

Environmental Studies: Kirby Alexandra Callaway C'12

Exercise Science: Nina Renee Asbury C'13

French: Shellie Drake C'12

History: Sara Lynn Maher C'12

Interior Design: Samantha Ryan Hubbard C'12

International Business: Kaitlin Ann Williams C'12

International Relations: Laura Elizabeth Hayworth C'12

Mathematics: Cassandra Lea Anne Wyatt C'12

Music: Jesse May MacKenzie C'12

Not-for-Profit Management: Megan Michele Harrison C'12

Philosophy: Teale Mackenzie Peck C'12

Psychology: Shirley Arispe Ervin C'12

Public Policy: Morgan Hope Gaines C'12

Religion: Alanna Kay Meltzer-Holderfield C'12

Sociology: Sarah Margaret Parker C'12

Spanish: Samantha Jane Styers C'13

Studio Art: Kara D. Chambers C'12

Teaching, Schools and Society: Lindsay Kellyn Crabb C'12

Women's Studies: Meghan McMullen C'13

Special Awards

Penelope Niven Award for Creative Writing: Alexandria Elizabeth Carreiro C'12

Lucy Bramlette Patterson Award for Excellence in Creative Writing: Caroline Elizabeth Wall C'13

Lovin History Award:    Rebecca Lynn Davis C'12

Phi Alpha Theta Inzer Byers History Honor Society Award: Jennifer Alisse Jones C'12

Lee and Mary Ann Campbell Davis Education Award: Margaret "Maggie" Claire Miller C'13

Women in Science and Mathematics Program Prize:    Lauren Elizabeth Moody C'12

Sights and Insights Dedication: Steve Nohlgren

ODK Outstanding Teaching Award: Steve Nohlgren

H. A. Pfohl Award – Faculty:    Wenzhi Sun

H. A. Pfohl Award – Student: Khadija Layne C'12