Furnished with antiques, the Rondthaler-Gramley House offers on-site accommodations for parents and family to stay while visiting Salem. The guest house is located in the center of Salem’s beautiful and historic campus. With five bedrooms, two baths, a comfortable living room area and kitchen, you are certain to feel right at home. Built in 1888, the house was designed to accommodate increased enrollment and was originally known as Annex Hall. Thirty young women moved into the Annex in the fall of 1888 to discover an elegant, two story frame structure designed in Queen Anne style with gables, a deck, two study parlors, classrooms, and a second floor divided into thirty-six sleeping alcoves. According to the November 1888 issue of The Academy, each room was wainscoted in oak, gas was “in every department,” the bathrooms had hot and cold water “and every modern convenience.” The Annex was converted to a home for President Rondthaler and his family in 1924, thanks to the generosity of a trustee. The Rondthalers lived there for twenty-five years. President and Mrs. Gramley, along with their four sons, occupied the home from 1949 until 1971. In 1972, the Academy and College acquired the Joshua Bonor House in Old Salem, where the President lives now. In 1984, the building was renamed the “Rondthaler-Gramley House” in honor of the two families who had made it their home.