Give to Salem!
Watch Salem College on YouTube Subscribe to Salem College on Pinterest

2015 International Literary Awards

Salem College Center for Women Writers

International Literary Competitions

The winner in each genre will receive $1000. An honorable mention in each genre (judge’s discretion) will receive $150.

Reynolds Price Short Fiction Award

for a short story up to 5000 words

Judge: Kris Saknussemm

Kris Saknussemm

A native of the Bay Area, Kris Saknussemm is the author of eleven books that have been translated into 22 languages. He teaches English at the University of Nevada in Las Vegas. His work in progress concerns his experiences in Papua New Guinea.


Rita Dove Poetry Award

for 1 poem (please send 3 poems/submission)

Judge: Lee Ann Roripaugh

Lee Ann Roripaugh

Lee Ann Roripaugh is the author of four volumes of poetry: Dandarians (Milkweed Editions, 2014) On the Cusp of a Dangerous Year, Year of the Snake, and Beyond Heart Mountain. She directs the creative writing program at The University of South Dakota, and is Editor-in-Chief of South Dakota Review.

Lee Ann Roripaugh Gold

Penelope Niven Creative Nonfiction Award

for a work of creative nonfiction, including lyric essay, memoir, & literary journalism, up to 5000 words

Judge: Brandel France de Bravo

Brandel France de Bravo

Brandel France de Bravo’s essays have appeared in, Bellingham Review, Gargoyle, and the Seneca Review. In 2014, she received the Center for Women Writers’ International Literary Award in creative nonfiction and the Goldfarb Family Fellowship, given annually to the top creative nonfiction applicant to Virginia Center for the Creative Arts.

Provenance - de Bravo

Inclement Weather

Due to inclement weather the College will be opening at 9:30 AM on Friday, February 27, 2015.
Fri Feb 27 12:00:00 EST 2015