Salem College Spirits Home

Anita and Theo Howard head to Japan to facilitate youth basketball camp

April 6, 2013
 
12 U.S. COLLEGE BASKETBALL COACHES HEAD TO YOKOTA, JAPAN TO FACILITATE MAINLAND BASKETBALL ASSOCIATION CAMP
Over 100 Girls And Boys Expected To Participate in Youth Basketball Camp Sponsored By
Creating Access To Educational Opportunities Through Sports Foundation (CAEOS)
 
WHAT:
basketballhuddleTwelve United States college basketball coaches will depart for Yokota, Japan to facilitate the Mainland Basketball Association (MBA) of Japan's youth basketball clinic. Over 100 students are anticipated to participate in the camp this year, which sent star players such as Rebekah Harwell and Raven Calloway stateside on college basketball scholarships in Mississippi. 
 
The youth basketball camp is collaborative effort sponsored in Japan by MBA and stateside by Creating Access to Educational Opportunities through Sports (CAEOS).  MBA hosts the event and CAEOS provides the coaches for the basketball clinic.  CAEOS also presents a college fair to educate the students on opportunities to enroll and attend secondary educational schools in the United States.  CAEOS facilitated the first clinic four years ago on Okinawa's Camp Foster. 
 
The 2013 CAEOS Japan coaching staff includes:  Lonnie Bartley of Fort Valley State University (bartleyl@fvsu.edu); Coretta Brown of Thomas University (cbrown@thomasu.edu); Anita Howard of Salem College (anita.howard@salem.edu); Theo Howard of Winston-Salem State University (howard@wssu.edu); Beard Griffith of Dillard University (bgriffith@dillard.edu); Aaron James of Grambling University (james@gram.edu); Danny O'Fallon of Santa Monica College (coachofbball@yahoo.com); Douglas Kim formerly of the UCLA coaching staff; Elwood Plummer of Huston-Tillotson University (eoplummer@htu.edu); Shawn Walker of Elizabeth City State University (swalker@mail.ecsu.edu); Ron Woodard of Claflin University (rwoodard80@gmail.com); and Shenika Worthy of Johnson C. Smith University (sworthy@jcsu.edu).
 
Coaches Danny O'Fallon, Shawn Walker and Ron Woodard serve as CAEOS Sports Venue Coordinators and Coaches Coretta Brown and Shenika Worthy serve as CAEOS Stateside Regional Coordinators of the SE and NE.
 
WHEN & WHERE:
April 9 - 12, 2013 in Yokota, Japan
Boys Camp - Yokota Air Base's Samurai Fitness Center
Girls Camp - Yokota Middle School
 
FOR MORE INFORMATION:
For more information on CAEOS, the Yokota, Japan Basketball Camp or for interviews with the coaching staff, please contact Aaron Nealey, CAEOS Vice President of Marketing at 972.854.8791 or by email at unlimtec@aol.com.  For more information on CAEOS, visit online at www.caeosfoundation.org.
 
About Mainland Basketball Association
Mainland Basketball Association (MBA) is a non-profit organization that promotes sportsmanship among all athletes through educational opportunities.  MBA strives to assist in the development of young children and stress the importance of being part of a "TEAM".  MBA is committed to assist players in fundamental skills, team concepts and college information.  MBA is in support of the United States Forces on Mainland Japan and the Pacific region. Visit MBA online at www.mainlandbasketballassociation.com.
 
About CAEOS Foundation
The CAEOS Foundation Inc. was created to assist ethnically diverse students in accessing educational opportunities through sports participation.  One of the fundamental goals is to provide CAEOS student members with multi-level support in their pursuit of obtaining a college education.  Our second, and equally important charge is to use sports participation as a vehicle to shape the socioeconomic outlook for our participating students.  The CAEOS motto is: "When the student is ready, the teacher will appear."
Salem College NCAA GSAC